Maison Noir
lead image

Reviews

THE 5 STAR MAISON NOIR REVIEWS ARE IN…

The very best thing about hosting a 5 star Luxury Villa is the interesting guests we receive & serve who come to Cape Town from all around the globe. It is our pleasure to help them realize their every dream during their stay with us at Maison Noir.

We are very proud of our reviews & would like to share them with you here. We’ll let the guests speak for themselves…..


This is a truly amazing place, the villa beautifully decorated. The views are spectacular and most importantly Albie and his crew made our stay such a pleasure. The dinner cooked by Charisse was fantastic, we enjoyed every bite of the dishes. We got the opportunity to taste the variety of the South African Cuisine in combination with different local wines. We can certainly recommend to stay at Maison Noir.

Jens L./Denmark/February 2017

 

It was like in a 5 Star hotel, but much better, because it’s a private villa with perfect interiors. Wonderful service, great breakfast, delicious dinners from Zoe – and a perfect party with friends. The best experience one can have.

Kai C./Germany/December 2016

 

This is a truly spectacular villa. It’s a real wow experience from the moment you arrive and Albie and the team do so much to accommodate you. We had a fantastic drinks and snack selection on our arrival, and were given a full tour of the place. We settled in well to what must be the most well equipped villa we’ve ever experienced. The surrounding landscape is beautiful – it’s tucked up in the hills in Hout Bay, where we spent time relaxing there and made a couple of day trips and evenings out from there too. It sleeps 8 adults comfortably, but can accommodate more if some guests are willing to share a room with a mezzanine. All in all a fantastic place and we’re certainly keen to go back again soon.

Jessica L M./UK/December 2016

 

I have had the pleasure of staying in many AirBnB places — the vast majority were clean, in good neighborhoods, and certainly places I would revisit if opportunity presented itself. It is rare that I have found a place I wish I could call home. But that is this property. Albie and his staff make you feel so welcome, like you’ve arrived home. The staff is immensely professional, responsive and helpful, the locale beyond picturesque, and somehow I still feel like this review is underselling this property by a wide margin. Whatever we needed, the staff bent over backwards to try and accommodate us if humanly possible. The staff always had a smile on their faces and made you feel like you had joined their family. I love this place and will revisit it every opportunity I possibly can. The pictures of the property don’t do it justice. Reviews won’t do this property justice. I will just have to leave at this: Book this place if it is available!! Full stop!!!

Marc N./USA/November 2016

 

We had a fantastic experience on our recent visit to Maison Noir! Albie and Michele made our family feel quite welcome and exceeded our expectations. The house was everything we expected, and more. It truly is as beautiful as the pictures showcase. The highlight of our stay was the exquisite Thanksgiving dinner that the Maison Noir team put on for our family and some SA friends. I don’t think I have ever had as good of a Thanksgiving dinner back home in the US. My only regret is that we didn’t stay long enough!

William R./UK/November 2016

 

Maison Noir is without doubt one of the most wonderful houses my family has ever stayed in….. It has absolutely everything you could wish for and even has things you would never have thought about. It provides space, more space, quality, location, luxury and so much more. Albie, Francois and their team could not do enough for us but in a completely unobtrusive and delightful way that made us feel welcome and provided us with every assistance we could have wished for. It is difficult to express in simple words how superb the facilities the management and the housekeeping were. Faultless, priceless. We absolutely loved everything about it.

Kathryn S./UK/October 2016

 

Our family of eight recently spent a week at the beautiful Maison Noir….. Nestled in seclusion below Table Mountain in Hout Bay, it provided a perfect home base for our day trips in the Cape Town region. It was only 20 minutes from Cape Town yet was a beautiful respite after all the activities we pursued during the day. The property itself is stunning. Entering along a wooden boardwalk over koi ponds you arrive at the front door with a view across the hall to the pool and mountains. There are so many places just indoors to hang out….from the bright living room near the kitchen and dining room, to the cosy family room down the hall, to the cool lounge area outside the bedrooms, to the movie theatre or wine cellar in the basement. There were three beautiful bedrooms with loft areas for extra sleeping plus a huge master suite with fireplace and sitting area. Outside, there was another dining area, seating on a covered patio and by the pool, and a sweet meditation area. Everything was so well laid out, with fastidious attention to every detail..outdoor showers, open fireplaces, Africology bath products, fine linens, candles and fresh flowers everywhere, a little shop selling locally made products, a pre-stocked fridge and bar, and a fabulous coffee maker. Albie and his staff were fantastic. No request was too small and he was a joy to communicate with about our needs, even before our arrival. The staff knew how to balance taking care of us, with leaving us to feel like we had the house to ourselves. The house and property were spotless. We used Maison Noir’s 12 passenger Mercedes Sprinter and driver for excursions. This made planning much easier. It was a very comfortable ride and Yves was an excellent driver. Maison Noir will kindly make arrangements for activities if you like. We chose to hire Charisse, the most fabulous chef, to make five dinners for us. After a busy day out touring, it was such a treat to come back to beautiful Maison Noir and unwind while smelling the aromas of Charisse’s cooking. She worked with us beforehand to plan each three course meal. She did not disappoint at all! Her passion about food is tasted in every bite. In Hout Bay itself there are amenities like restaurants and shops. We particularly enjoyed the Friday night market where you could purchase delicious local food from assorted booths, sit at communal tables and then shop for locally made handicrafts! We highly recommend Maison Noir and cannot wait to return!

Mary Anne v G./Canada/September 2016


Nick and Albie and the rest of the staff were absolutely great…
from the moment we stepped into this amazing property. They both went out of there way to organize a private dining experience for 16 of us last minute on our first day which made us feel right at home, they also organised a day trip to go shark diving for some of our group the next morning. The property itself is easily one of the most beautiful places i have ever stayed, making it hard to leave! everyone who stayed in my party didn’t have a bad word to say about the place and we all look forward to coming back at some point in our lives.

Niall L./UK/March 2016

 

My husband and I just completed a magical five night stay in Maison Noir… We have travelled the world and been in many 5 star properties but none can compare to this exceptional one. The house itself with its stunning views and amazing architectural details that allow one to feel as if you are living as one with the surroundings make for a unique and totally wonderful experience. The living spaces are open and yet cozy enough to be comfortable. The attention to detail is exceptional. We believe a place is only as good as its staff and here Maison Noir ranks 5 stars again. The staff is efficient and warm. Gracious as only an excellent host can be. We never truly felt like guests but more part of the “family.” And lastly, and very important to us is location. Although Maison Noir is surrounded by many hectares of wonderful vegetation and mountains it is just minutes away from beautiful Hout Bay with its great beach and small community vibe. I guess I am trying to say that this property has it all. Great location, great accommodation and wonderful, gracious staff.Just hope we will have the privledge of returning to this heaven on earth again.

Judy M./NYC/March 2016

 

It’s hard to put into words how wonderful this house is…. Beautiful, stylish, comfortable, luxurious, welcoming and with an inspiring view of Table Mountain in the back garden. We have stayed in many Airbnb places around the world and this is without doubt the most magnificent. Our holiday experience was made even more perfect by Charisse and Nick who looked after us with warmth, kindness and humour. Charisse cooked us some delicious meals and even our two 15 year old boys who have unstoppable appetites were occasionally beaten. Charisse’s would be on par with a high end London restaurant. Perfection personified.

Mark/UK/January 2016

Charisse and her staff were exceptionally responsive from the moment we contacted them….They were extremely organized, yet unobtrusive. As we walked into the villa we felt like we had entered some kind of Afro-Asian temple. The award-winning decor is beautiful and powerful, yet understated. The property itself is set in a secluded area, with access to hiking. The area is spacious, yet cosy. We had plans to leave and travel around the area, but once we arrived these all changed. This is such a special place – why leave?

Steve/Cincinatti OH/December 2015

We booked Maison Noir to celebrate my Mum’s 70th with friends and had a brilliant stay…..Charisse, Nick and their team went out of their way to make our stay something special, recommending restaurants, organizing transport and suggesting places to visit. To finish off the perfect stay Charisse organised a cake and cooked a fabulous Braai whilst Nick created a fabulous floral display! Maison Noir is as zen and serene as it looks in the photos and a fabulous spot for a special event or R&R with friends and family. I’d recommend it to anyone looking for something very special and a little bit different.

Cara/UK/November 2015

 

This self-catering establishment is the best I have ever been to… The views of the surrounding mountains are amazing, and the house is a few minutes drive from the beach – the best of both worlds. The rooms are spacious, each with their own en suites – the outdoor showers are definitely one of the highlights. Another amazing feature of this property is the cinema. With the comfortable, take-off-your-shoes-and-relax seating area, it is the perfect place to enjoy a movie night. Although it is self-catering, I would highly recommend booking chef Charisse to cook a dinner for you. You will be so impressed with the delicious meal, that you will want to book her for the rest of your stay. The pool – surrounded by a wooden deck and lounges – gets the warming rays of the sun for most of the day, meaning that a dip in the pool during warm months is a must, followed by relaxing on the deck. An incredible place; when the end of your stay is drawing near, you will likely try every way to extend it just to stay at Maison Noir for longer.

Paula/Cape Town, South Africa/November 2015

 

We’ve been to a few amazing places, but today, we were completely blown away by Villa Maison Noir in Hout Bay!

Besides the warm hospitality of Chef Charisse and Manager, Nick, the warmth and beauty that exudes from every corner of this magnificent guesthouse is refreshing. A truly special and unrivaled gem in the Bay!

 Letishia/Cape Town/November 2015

Thank you SO much for an outstanding event….I spoke to our guests and everybody was extremely happy with the quality of your food and the whole experience. I must say that I absolutely love your beautiful house and it really feels like home since it is so private, so unique, so beautifully design and your staff is just lovely. It has this special vibe and mood which you can’t buy with money. 

I will come back personally and I know that some of my guests already have plans to come back. Charisse did an amazing job as well and also my partner from Remy Cointreau were extremely impressed by the composition of the dinner and food. 

 It was a great pleasure working with you and I hope we continue our collaboration in the near future. 

Benjamin H. / London/Zurich / October 2015

Thank you so very much for all your help and hospitality…. on Saturday morning at the VISI tour of Maison Noir.

The VISI team and all of our guests had the most amazing time, and it was definitely one of our most memorable tours yet!

VISI Magazine / October 2015

My experience at the Private Escape was fantastic!… The house is amazing with a state of the art kitchen filled with utensils fit for a Chef’s desire. As food lovers; we warm “homey loungers” enjoyed this house. Charisse and her team were amazing. We look forward to returning soon! Great, Great, Fun!!!!

Lungelwa S. / Roodepoort, South Africa / September 2015

 

“Spectacular property” the entire staff went out of there way to accommodate all of our requests….oh and the linens amazing! although we were sad to leave, we left feeling rested and content looking forward to returning very soon.

Kathryn K. / New York City / March 2015

 

“Best I have ever experienced”… Maison Noir felt like a trial of heaven. Charisse and niCk were outstanding hosts from the moment of booking to first setting foot on the property. They redefined hospitality to a level I have never seen. I will forever use them as the bench mark for all future vacations. I wish everyone the experience at Maison Noir. You will leave a better person.

Neil P. / San Francisco CA / May 2015

 

“Unparalleled Experience”….The home is an absolute paradise… you won’t want to leave! Charisse’s homemade Rosemary bread and biscotti were out of this world. The house was kept spotless, the many fireplaces constantly tended, and the kitchen generously stocked.

Courtney B. / Kenya / July 2015

 

Highly recommended… if you are going to Cape Town with your friends or family.

We enjoyed our stay at Mansion Noir. The place is wonderful! Spacious, comfortable, stylish and luxurious. It was a pity that we did not spend enough time at the place to relax and enjoy the beautiful moments as our schedule was quite tight.

Charisse and Nick are helpful and quick in response. We love the arrangements they made. Charisse is also a very good chef! Do try to arrange for a dinner there!

Pinky /Hong Kong /April 2015

 

Maison Noir is a stunning home… in Hout Bay surrounded by beautiful mountains and trees. The hospitality is out-of-this world and cannot be better. Very cosy place for families and smaller groups to enjoy the real values of life. Would stay there any time again. Charisse was not only the best host but also the best chef you can envision in your dreams. Charisse, thanks so much again.

Bernhard / Germany/ February 2015

 

Maison Noir is truly one of the most special places…. We have never experienced such a perfect combination of luxury and comfort. Rarely do you find somewhere that takes your breath away but at the same time makes you feel entirely at home. A huge part of this is due to Charisse and the team who go to every length to make you feel completely at home and relaxed. The kitchen is one of the best equipped I have ever stayed in which for a foody like me adds to the sense of being at home, but Charisse’s cooking put my meagre efforts to shame. We will be back without a shadow of a doubt and I cannot recommend the accommodation and the service high enough.

Rich / London/ February 2015

 

This was our second stay at Maison Noir…. And we must say it was even better then the first time. The house is so spacious, wonderfully designed and furnished and is equipped with everything one needs. Charisse is very helpful and around when needed. The property staff is friendly and hard working and nice to have around. We just felt at home and had a hard time to leave again. We will for sure be back! Thank you for everything!

Jasmin / Switzerland / February 2015

 

Staying at Maison noir is a truly out of this world experience… It is architecturally the most stunning house I have ever seen. Charisse was a brilliant host- there was wine and a platter of cheese and meats for us on arrival. She was staying downstairs and would respond promptly to emails when we had any questions. I would highly recommend staying here, but I warn you- there may be tears when you have to leave!

Emily / London / January 2015

 

Our stay at Maison Noir was just wonderful…. We enjoyed every minute. Charisse and her team had nothing more in mind then caring for us and making it a very special couple of days. The breakfast, which we booked, was outstanding and Charisse surprised us with wonderful creations of scrambled eggs and much more. The dinner, which can be booked as well, was a dream and we can just highly recommend it. If you do not want to stay at maison noir Charisse is happy to help to organize everything (cab, picknick, tickets etc.). In total: just go there and enjoy the house. The house is, by the way, just the way it looks on the pictures, spacious and at the same time cosy. It is a very special place! Thanks again Charisse!’

 Arne / Hamburg / January 2015

 

Balinese fantasy architecture in Hout Bay…. with Koi ponds and great high-up location. Amazing four bedroom suites, three essentially similar, each with a private loft / study and en-suite bathroom with outdoor shower. Plus an incredible master suite. Stunning mountain views from inside and outside with huge amounts of shared space. Great pool plus mini-beach and jacuzzi! We were welcomed by the host and staff and treated very well throughout the 14 day stay. Feels like a combination of boutique hotel, luxury lodge and high-end self-catering villa. Charisse and her team have the ability to cater and assist in all sorts of ways and were always on hand to do so if needed.

Jonathan / London / December 2014